Semi-final action looming

By Tatura Guardian

Saturday’s stroke round was the second qualifying round for the club championships and was sponsored by Geoff Lipshut. The best score of the day came from Andrew Speed who won B-grade with a round of 83-18-65. A triple-bogey seven on the first was not a great start but he recovered with a birdie on the third and three pars to turn on 43. There was much better to come with a birdie on the tenth, three more pars and no more blowouts. His 40 on the back nine gave him a win by four in his grade.

Matt Miller now plays off a one-handicap and on Saturday he played even better than that with a one-under 34 on the front nine and a two-under 34 on the back to win A-grade by one shot from Mark Wursthorn, who shot 83-15-68.

NTP trophies went to Ray Coleman on the third (Lewis Homes), Garry Reese on the sixth (Tatura Post Office), Mark Wursthorn on the 14th (A-1 Freight) while Darren Carter won the jackpot and NTP on the ninth which is sponsored by Tatura Engineering.

Line balls: Ian Elders 70, Danyel Dryden, Fred Andrews, Garry Reese and Tim Dickinson 71, Trevor Allen 72, Michael Mulcahy, Steve Zolich, John Keller, Clive Merrigan, Gerard Watson, Anthony Devine, Peter Hutton and Peter Caldow 73, Peter Baird, Frank Hill and Jeff Huddle 74 on countback.

Robyn Downs won the women’s competition with 37 stableford points off an 18 handicap, Jan Coe was runner-up with 32 on a countback from Mandy McGrath who won a consolation ball. Robyn Downs won NTP on the third and sixth holes, Mandy McGrath won on the ninth and Jan Coe was successful on the 14th.

Championship semi-finals

Matt Miller is the leading qualifier for the championships and he will play fourth-placed Paul Cornelius for a spot in the final on Sunday and second-placed John Keller will play third-placed Steve Haigh. Michael Downs leads B-grade and plays Dave Cornwall while Danyel Dryden will play Peter Baird. Allan McGrath qualified first for C-grade and will play Les Walsh while Scott Perry will play Clive Merrigan.

In the Seniors’ Championship, John Keller will play Peter Hutton and Allan McGrath will play Michael Downs.

C-grade will lead off on Sunday at 10am, B-grade will follow and, finally, A-grade/club championship will follow. The Seniors’ Championship matches can be played at a time that is mutually agreeable.


Ron Popple won Tuesday’s stableford competition with 41 points with Barry Dennis runner-up with 37 points on a countback. Popple had a wipe on the first hole and only one point on the ninth but a birdie three on the fifth and four pars enabled him to turn with 21 points. A solid 20 points on the back nine gave him the win by four points and a lot of satisfaction until the next round. Line-balls: Graham Meneilly 37, Tom Tyrrell and Garry Reese 36, Allan McGrath and Ray Coleman 35 on countback.

Michael Downs left the rest of the field in his wake on Thursday when he won the stroke competition with 83-16-67 with Graham Meneilly runner-up with 73. Ian Elders won NTP and consolation balls went to James Ibbotson and Peter Hutton, 74 on a countback.

IGA chook-run

Not only did Dale Clarke run the chook-run on Thursday but he won the event with a nett 31. Michael Downs was runner-up with 34 on a countback and line-balls went to Ryan Lindsay, John Freudenstein, Ty Guiney 34 and to John Bunn 35 on countback.

Coming events

Saturday’s stableford competition will be sponsored by Peter Caldow’s family and the semi-finals of the club championships will be played on Sunday. Golfers are asked to check whether they have qualified and what time hit-offs are scheduled for the various grades. The GV Veterans will play at Rich River on Monday, the 20th, the Water Industry Charity Day is on Friday, the 24th and the final of the club championships will be played on Sunday, the 26th.

Just for laughs

Bill and Earl are out playing golf. They get to the 17th tee, which overlooks a small lake, and see two guys out on the lake fishing. Bill says, ‘‘Hey Earl, check out these two idiots fishing in the rain!’’