Big win for coach

By Fraser Walker-Pearce

Cobram’s Rob Allen has topped off a remarkable year by being named Goulburn Murray region youth coach of the year.

The Tigers’ under-14 football coach saw his side go undefeated throughout the season, as well as the finals series in the Murray Football League, which culminated in a 56-0 thrashing of Deniliquin Rams in the grand final in September.

That would be enough to satisfy most coaches for a season, but Allen’s got even better when it was announced at the annual Goulburn Murray Coaches Association dinner at Barooga Sporties, he was the youth coach of the year award winner.

Held earlier in the month, the awards night celebrates and honours the best in coaching from across the region.

The annual event recognises and awards country footy coaches in all categories across affiliated leagues in the region, this year included a netball coach of the year award.

Allen was up against strong competition, named alongside worthy coaches from Tallygaroopna, Kyabram, St Mary’s, Shepparton United and Rochester.

Other awards went to Echuca’s Mark McCann for Auskick centre of the year, Moama’s Ben Hearn as junior coach of the year for under-12 and below, Nathalia’s Fiona Byres as female coach of the year Rumbalara’s Jessica Bamblett as netball coach of the year and Nathalia’s Craig Kellow as senior coach of the year.

The Tigers will hope to retain Allen’s services for next season to continue his great work.

Allen could not be reached before the Courier’s deadline yesterday.


Youth coach of the year (under-13 to under-18) nominees:

Rob Allen – Cobram

Tait Collins – Tallygaroopna

Glenn Hart – Kyabram

Rod Mann – St Mary’s

Dean Walton – Shepp United

Bailey Wileman – Rochester