Club champions applauded

May 31, 2018

Club champions Julie Gregg and Matt Miller.

C Grade women finalists from left Lyn Flett (caddy) Bev Roberts (winner) Sharon Jeffers (runner up) Bec Jeffers (caddy).

The most important event of the year has concluded with the Club Championships decided on Sunday and in keeping with the equality principles which Hill Top is renowned both the Mens and Womens finals were played in alternating order.

In the womens D grade event it was Josephine De Ieso against Phil Fiddes and Phil came out on top with a 5/3 victory which is a great effort and a tribute to Phils enthusiasm and determination as she is a fairly recent starter in the game.

Then for the Womens C grade title Bev Roberts and Sharon Jeffers played some terrific golf at a standard better than their handicaps. Bev was two up after nine holes and went on the win 4/2.

The men’s C-grade final was played between Jarrod Taylor and Rocco Barca and this was a close match all day with the lead see-sawing and after 18 holes they were still square so journeyed down the nineteenth hole where Rocco used his putter from forty metres out and put the ball in the hole to take the match.

In the Womens B grade it was Colleen Johns and Sue Turnbull who played another very tight match.

Colleen was one up after 10 then Sue got back to square after twelve.

Sue was one up after the fifteenth, back to square after seventeen and another match to go down the nineteenth where Colleen took the trophy.

Alex Howson and John Dellar did battle for the Mens B grade championships and Alex was just in front early, saved on the eighth when a skinny chip hit the flag, went to one up after nine and then two up after twelve, managed to get out of jail on the fourteenth after a not very impressive chip shot and then held on to win the match 3/2

For the Club Championships Julie Gregg and Jan Coe met in a match where Jan would not go away, and with very straight shots and good putting Jan kept the pressure on all day.

Julie was one up after eight, back to square after twelve and thirteen, Jan won the fourteenth, Julie won the fifteenth and sixteenth to go one up and with great recovery on seventeen remained on up and held on with the help of a classy chip on eighteen.

Julie took the match one up to become the Womens Club Champion for 2018.

For the men, Matt Miller and John Keller both of whom would prefer to forget the score they returned on Saturday put on a great display of golf.

Matt got away winning the first and second holes, then John won the third and fourth holes which set the scene for the whole match.

Matt was one up after eight then the match was square after eleven. Matt went to one up after winning the thirteenth. John sank a magnificent long putt to birdie the fifteenth to even the match again.

John then won sixteen to go one up.

Matt came back with a win on seventeen, hence the Club Championship match was all even on the eighteenth tee. Both players had a little tree trouble with their second shots.

Matt put his third very close to the pin while John fell short and could not get close enough to put pressure on Matt and the Clubs youngest low handicapper received the applause and congratulations for a dogged performance. What a fantastic finish to the Club and Grade Championships to have so many close matches.

Well done to all finals players.

Privilege Cup

Saturday’s competition was Stableford for the monthly Privilege Cup and a close contest it was with Steve Haigh and Ross Kelly both on 40 points however on countback Steve won the Cup and A grade and Ross took the B-grade trophy. Countbacks were the order of the day with Fred Andrews runner up in A-grade and Club Captain Bob Hunter runner-up in B-grade both on 36 points as too were those they managed to defeat with Geoff Coolahan and John Mapson also on 36 points who took home a ball each

Other ball winners were Andrew Speed and Peter Collison 35, Scott Carter, Steve Zolich, Rocco Barca, Norm Elliott 34 and Brad Deane and Lou Villani 33. Nearest the pins went to Peter Collison on the third for the Lewis Homes prize, Bryan Miller for the Tatura Post Office prize on the sixth and for the Tatura Engineering ninth hole it was Captain Bob who just missed the jackpot by centimetres and then on the A1 Freight sponsored fourteenth it was Mike Jeffers who took home the prize.

Bec Jeffers returned the best score in the club for the day with a great 42 points to win the Womens Stableford event. Runner-up was Heather Long on 40 points and Josephine De Ieso won a ball on 34. Nearest the pins were shared by Bec and Heather with Bec taking the third and Heather taking the fourteenth and ninth and the jackpot on the ninth to deny Captain Bob Hunter bragging rights.

More in Tatura Guardian
Login Sign Up

Dummy text