Curtis takes monthly medal

May 08, 2018

Like the look: Judy Baker tees-off in the GMGA mixed on Sunday.

On point: Club Championship contender Paul Cornelius hits off the tee.

The GMCU monthly medal for May was won on Saturday by Drew Curtis with a round of 76-9-67, while Paul Cornelius was runner-up in A-grade with 76-8-68 on a count back from Steve Zolich.

Yerly Vasquez won B-grade with 93-22-71 and Ian Elders was runner-up with 90-18-72.

Graham Meneilly won nearest-the-pin on the third hole (Lewis Homes), Fred Andrews won on the sixth (Tatura Post Office), John Dellar won the jackpot and nearest-the-pin on the ninth (Tatura Engineering), and Terry O’Brien won on the 14th (A-1 Freight).

In the ball rundown, Steve Zolich had 68, Matt Miller 70, Alex Howson, Michael Downs, Ray Flett 72, Graham Smith and Joe De Ieso 73, Anthony Devine, Allan McGrath, John Fanning, John Keller, Ian Huther and Hamish Roberts 74, Scott Carter and Brad Deane 75 on count back.

Saturday was also the first qualifying round for the club championships with Matt Miller (72) leading, followed by Paul Cornelius and Drew Curtis, both on 76.

The second round will be played this week, with the top four then playing match play. Other grades use handicapped scores to determine their top four.

Josie De Ieso won the women’s stableford competition with 36 points and Robyn Downs was runner-up with 35 on a count back, while Judy Baker 35 and Cathy Jones 34 won consolation balls.


The Goulburn Murray Golf Association held a mixed American foursomes competition (for the George Cronyn Memorial) at Mooroopna in fine sunny weather on a well-prepared course.

The GMGA committee has revitalised Goulburn Murray golf, attracting excellent fields at Tocumwal and Mooroopna and has plans to broaden women’s pennant to be played on Sundays for women who can not play during the week.

Lincoln Ferrari and Tracey Coulston won the scratch event with 76 and Frank and Sue McIntyre were runners-up with 82.

Allan and Nola Dalton from Numurkah won the Cronyn trophy for best handicap score of 69.2, while Denis Koik and Di Greenwood were runners-up with 70.1.

Although Hill Top was well represented, Jan Coe’s nearest-the-pin on the 10th hole and consolation balls to John and Lyn Fanning and Alex Howson and Ros Seymour were the only times Hill Top featured at presentations.

George Cronyn was president of Hill Top and of the GVGA for many years and was tireless in promoting golf in the Goulburn Valley.

He was a great supporter of Country Week golf and was ecstatic when the GV side won division one shortly before his death.


Frank Hill had a fine 83-19-64 on Tuesday, but it wasn’t good enough to beat Bruce Gross’ 77-13-64, which featured birdies on the fifth and 15th holes.

Bryan Miller had 67, Trevor Allen and Jeff Baker 69, Rocci Villani and Barry Dennis 71, while Frank Hill won a ball for his nearest-the-pin on the ninth hole.

Joe Kawalko won the stableford event on Thursday with a whopping 44 points.

As if 43 off the stick wasn’t good enough on the front nine, Kawalko shot 41 on the back to beat his handicap by eight and knock his GA handicap back to 18.1.

Bob Wildes was runner-up with 42 points while there were a few golfers disappointed to win just a ball for scores of 41, 39 and even 38.

Allan McGrath and Mick Mulcahy had 41, Col Barlow and Frank Hill 39 and Steven Haigh and Joe De Ieso 38, while Bryan Miller won nearest-the-pin.

IGA chook run

John McCallum won Thursday’s competition with a nett 26, five shots ahead of runner-up Jeff Huddle.

Matt Miller won nearest-the-pin on the sixth hole and consolation balls went to Sheryl Curran, Bev Roberts and Alex Howson 32, Phyl Fiddes, John Mapson, Bryan Miller and Scott Carter 33.

Coming events

The stroke round on Saturday is the second qualifying round for the championships and the Order of Merit winners for April will be presented.

Semi-finals will be played on May 20 and the finals a week later.

More in Tatura Guardian
Login Sign Up

Dummy text