Privilege Cup contested

May 04, 2018

Winners on Anzac Day were Josh Catalano and Joel May from Mooroopna.

Jeff Baker was the B Grade winner at Hill Top on Saturday, April 28.

The Privilege Cup, sponsored by BMW Shepparton, was won on Saturday at Hill Top by Ty Guiney with 44 stableford points on a count-back from Dan Miller.

Playing off a 13 handicap, Guiney scored 20 points on the front nine holes even with a wipe on the third.

Whatever he ate or drank before teeing off on the 10th, it really helped him as he birdied the 10th for three points, birdied the 11th for four points and did the same on the 12th — 11 points in three holes.

Jeff Baker parred the first hole for four points and the second for three, turning with 21 points.

He played the back nine for 18 points which gave him a win in B-grade by three from visiting Cowes golfer Ian Huther. Garry Reese won NTP on the third hole, sponsored by Lewis Homes, Matt Miller won on the sixth (Tatura Post Office), Brian Coe won the jackpot and NTP on the ninth (Tatura Engineering) and Matt Miller had another win on the 14th (A-1 Freight).

Competition was tight, and in the ball run-down Mick Mulcahy scored 41 points, John Keller and Paul Cornelius 40, Matt Miller 39, David Roberts and Ryan Lindsay 37, Ron Popple 36, and Graham McIntosh, Terry O’Brien, Anthony Devine and Steven Haigh had 35.

Heather Long won the women’s competition with 41 stableford points, Robyn Downs was runner-up with 37 and consolation balls went to Bev Roberts 36, Sue Turnbull and Elizabeth Mulcahy 35 on count-back.

Sheryl Curran won NTP on the ninth (Café Alofa) while Kaye Hunter won on the 14th (Mel’s Café).

Prior to presentations, Scott Angove from Ambulance Victoria gave a refresher course to golfers on the use of CPR and the defibrillator that is positioned on the wall beside Ged’s office.

He stressed the importance of quick intervention in the case of a cardiac arrest.


Barry Dennis won Tuesday’s stableford competition with 39 points and Trevor Allen was runner-up with 37 on a count-back.

Jeff Baker had 37, John Hayward won a ball with 35 points on a count-back and Bryan Miller won NTP.

The two-person Ambrose played on Thursday was won by Peter Caldow and Bryan Miller with 63.25 while Angie Serra and Ray Flett were runners-up with 66.

Rocci and Lou Villani won a consolation ball apiece with 67.5 on a count-back from Joe Kawalko and James Ibbotson.

Anzac Day

Brad’s NL Drainage was the generous sponsor for the fourball stableford competition that attracted 116 players and was won by Josh Catalano and Joel May, from Mooroopna Golf Club, with 50 points.

Golfers were given a sav and roll before they hit off and bowls of hot finger food while waiting for results, making an enjoyable day an even better one.

Jono Kerrins and Brendan Calder were runners-up with 49 points on a count-back from Joe Nihill and Matthew O’Dwyer, both with 49 points, while Darren Carter and Rocco Barca were in fourth place with 46.

Hamish Roberts won NTP on the third hole, Dylan Burls won on the sixth, Les Walsh was the winner on the 14th and Col Barlow completed a very satisfactory double on the ninth, winning NTP and the jackpot.

Balls down-the-line went to Joe De Ieso-Scott Perry 46, Bill Ashcroft-Martyn Williams 46, Mick Trevaskis-Peter Collison 46, Harley Cobbledick-Tom Nihill 46, Ryan Butler-Tim James 45, Michael Mulcahy-Drew Curtis 45, Lou and Rocci Villani 45, Peter Cardamone-Paul Cornelius 44, and Mark Wursthorn-Luke Fitzpatrick 44 on count-back.

IGA Chook Run

Thursday’s chook run is now an all-day affair rather than a late afternoon event, to encourage more golfers to enter.

Sheryl Curran won last week with a nett 35 and Dave Roberts was runner-up with 36. Dale Clarke, Scott Carter and John Bunn had 37s, Josie De Ieso and Brian Coe 38s on a count-back.

Coming events

Saturday’s stroke event is for the Monthly Medal, sponsored by GMCU, and is also the first qualifying round for the club championships.

The second qualifying round is the following Saturday, the semi-finals on Sunday 20th and the final on the 27th.

On Sunday, May 6, the GMGA mixed event for the George Cronyn Memorial will be played at Mooroopna.

This event honours the man who was a major figure in the administration and development of Hill Top and the GVGA.

Entries may be made online at or with Alex Howson, 4 Rose Crt, Tatura.

— Foozle

More in Tatura Guardian
Login Sign Up

Dummy text