Rain flummoxes golfers

April 18, 2018

Saturday winner Bev Roberts between sponsors Judy and Bill Ashcroft.

Sunday winners Phyl Fiddes, Joe and Josie De Ieso.

There was a good field of 57 golfers on Saturday for the stableford competition sponsored by Bill and Judy Ashcroft, but due to wet weather only 30 finished their round.

Spoiled by months of fine weather, golfers could not cope with the 7mm of rain and the strong winds that sent them scurrying to the clubhouse, seeking shelter and something to restore them.

Those who hit off early brought in the best scores, with Trevor Allen winning B-grade with 37 stableford points and Les Walsh runner-up with 36.

Ty Guiney won A-grade with 35 points and Bruce Gross was runner-up with 34.

Matt Miller won nearest-the-pin on the third hole, Ron Popple won on the sixth, Trevor Allen won nearest-the-pin and the jackpot on the ninth and Drew Curtis won on the 14th.

Joe De Ieso had 34 points, Michael Mulcahy and Gary Hopcraft 33, Jarrod Taylor, Jody Webber and Matt Miller 32, Graham Meneilly and Steve Whitting 31, Scott Carter 30, Drew Curtis and Dan Miller 29.

Bev Roberts won the women’s competition with 30 points, Phyl Fiddes was runner-up with 29 and Jan Coe won a consolation ball for her 28 on a count back.

Phyl Fiddes won nearest-the-pin on the ninth hole and Jan Coe won on the third.


Dave Roberts and Phyl Fiddes won the mixed four-ball stableford competition with 42 points, while Joe and Josie De Ieso were runners-up with 40 on a count back.

Fred Andrews and Heather Long were third and consolation balls went to Matt Miller and Julie Gregg with 39 points.

Jan Coe won nearest-the-pin on the third, Phyl Fiddes won on the sixth and Joe De Ieso won on the 14th hole.


Jeff Baker came home with three late pars on Tuesday and 42 on the back nine to win the stroke competition with 89-21-68, one ahead of Frank Hill who had 88-19-69.

Peter Hutton had 70, Joe Kawalko and Bill Ashcroft 71 and Clive Merrigan also won a ball with 72 on a count back.

Steve Haigh won nearest-the-pin on the ninth hole.

Jeff Baker continued his roll on Thursday, parring the first three holes, but fell away to bring in 37 stableford points to be runner-up, three behind Rocci Villani.

Villani scored a modest 16 points on the front nine but came home with 24 on the back to win comfortably.

Haigh continued his dominance on the ninth by winning nearest-the-pin once again and line balls went to Mick Mulcahy, Brian Coe, Joe Kawalko and Barry Dennis, all with 36 points.

IGA chook run

John Hayward won Thursday’s event with 34 nett and Judy Ashcroft was runner-up with 35 on a count back.

Phyl Fiddes won nearest-the-pin on the 14th hole and line balls went to Alex Howson 35, Dale Clarke, Noel Gorrill and Brian Coe 36, Michael Mulcahy 37, Phyl Fiddes, Peter Fiddes and John Bunn 38 on count back.

Coming events

Davrod (Dave Roberts and Rod Schubert) will sponsor Saturday’s par-plus event when it is possible to score two pluses on one hole if you have a stroke left over on it.

On Sunday, several teams of four players will travel to Tocumwal to contest the GMGA Gray Barton Teams event, while women’s teams will contest the Gollan-Hicks-Kelly Shield.

Phone Dave Roberts on 58242855 to enter a team.

On Anzac Day, Wednesday April 25, NL Drainage is sponsoring a four-ball stableford competition for men and women with $1000 in trophies available.

Assembly is at noon for a 12.30pm hit-off to allow those attending the Anzac ceremony at 11am to compete.

There will be a light lunch before hit-off and afternoon tea later.

— Foozle

More in Tatura Guardian
Login Sign Up

Dummy text